Colorado quintet 17th Avenue Allstars gives us a GREAT doo wop recording in “Doo Wop Gold.” There really is nothing lacking on this collection of classics, from “Sh-Boom (Life Could Be a Dream)” to “In the Still of the Night” (complete with the pre-requisite bass voiceover). The singing is right on, as they find their groove with heir relatively new four-guy-one-girl configuration. Jenn Butler’s solo on “I Only Have Eyes for You” is so sexy and smooth, you’ll have trouble remembering where – forget about WHEN – you are! “Rockin’ Robin” will get you up and movin’, as will “Get a Job” and “Trickle Trickle.” We dare you NOT to sing along with “Blue Moon” – go ahead, try out your bass chops. We won’t tell! This is an awesome, feel-good album, reminiscent of the feel-good 50s and 60s. Pick this one up for a sweet, swingin’ trip down memory lane. (37:42 2004)

The 17th Avenue Allstars – Doo Wop Gold

  1. Remember When – I Wonder Why
  2. Sh-Boom
  3. I Only Have Eyes for You
  4. Blue Moon
  5. Rockin’ Robin
  6. Come Go With Me
  7. Lonely Teardrops
  8. In the Still of the Night
  9. Morse Code of Love
  10. Get a Job
  11. Trickle Trickle
  12. The Lion Sleeps Tonight