1991 – Talkin’ Acappella!

A debut album worth picking up alongside later releases. Talkin’ Acappellahas everything that makes a wonderful a cappella album – a variedrepertoire, including “YWA (Yuppie With Attitude)” and “Why do Fools FallIn Love?”, traffic-stopping soloists and a killer bass. Contains unobtrusive percussion. (1991)

The 17th Avenue All-Stars – Talkin’ Acappella!

  1. Why Do Fools Fall In Love
  2. Second Chance
  3. Try A Little Tenderness
  4. Oh, The Americas
  5. The Letter
  6. You Talk Too Much
  7. Swing Down, Chariot
  8. Forbidden Love
  9. Wonderful Tonight
  10. Fire
  11. Minute By Minute
  12. YWA (Yuppie With Attitude)

1993 – Simplicity

This mixed R&B group (four men, one woman) offers mostly originals with tight harmony, infectious rhythm and incredibly strong solos. Airplay quality originals include the title cut, “You Are the One,” and calypso “Johnny” which won “Best Original Song” at the Harmony Sweepstakes. Boppin’ covers include a “Sly Medley,” and “Stay With Me Tonight.” Inclusion of a sax on two numbers shocks at first, but the “sixth voice”-flavor it provides is artistically satisfying. (41:19 1993)

The 17th Avenue Allstars – Simplicity

  1. Sly Medley
  2. When I Think Of You
  3. Power Of The Holy Ghost
  4. He’s Back And I’m Blue
  5. Simplicity
  6. One Way Or Another
  7. Johnny
  8. If You Love Somebody Set Them Free
  9. Love And Joy
  10. You Are The One
  11. All I Have Is Me
  12. Stay With Me Tonight

1995 – True Colors

The departure of La Tanya Hall to a solo career and untimely death of Jeff Harris left Robert Johnson and Norm Silver to rebuild the group with arranging assistance by founder Robert Anderson. New members Jacquelyn Farrell, Rita Dean and Evan Blackstone continue the standard of vocal excellence. The ten songs include only one original by Robert Johnson who was busy with production as well. Included are “Sweet Dreams,” “Stand By Me” and “Working In A Coal Mine” in addition to the beautiful title track “True Colors”.

The 17th Avenue Allstars – True Colors

  1. Sweet Dreams
  2. Drive My Car
  3. Sixteen Tons
  4. Yes We Can
  5. Stand By Me
  6. True Colors
  7. Working In The Coal Mine
  8. Swing Low Sweet Chariot
  9. Brother John
  10. Some Kind Of Wonderful

2000 – The 17th Avenue Allstars

Wow! What a disc! The singing is strong, tuned and together, and it’s obvious they’re having a ball doing it. The newly-re-formulated All-Stars have got something goin’ on with funky tunes like Stevie Wonder’s “I Wish,” Motown classic “Seesaw,” and “All Kinds of People.” All the soloists are solid, as is the rhythm section (Norm Silver on bass and Zack Freeman on VP). Normshows some impressive range on lots of tunes, as well as taking the lead on Springsteen’s “I’m on Fire.” The last two tunes on the CD (“That’s the Way of the World” and Earth Wind and Fire’s “September”) will make you want to dust off your bell-bottoms and peasant blouses and boogie along with ’em. This is one not to miss!  (44:17 – 2000)

The 17th Avenue Allstars – 17th Avenue Allstars

  1. Song List
  2. Don’t Stop Believin’
  3. I Wish
  4. Walking in Memphis
  5. I’m on Fire
  6. Seesaw
  7. God Shuffled His Feet
  8. All Kinds of People
  9. My Child
  10. You Don’t Treat Me No Good
  11. That’s The Way of The World
  12. September

2004 – Doo Wop Gold

Colorado quintet 17th Avenue Allstars gives us a GREAT doo wop recording in “Doo Wop Gold.” There really is nothing lacking on this collection of classics, from “Sh-Boom (Life Could Be a Dream)” to “In the Still of the Night” (complete with the pre-requisite bass voiceover). The singing is right on, as they find their groove with heir relatively new four-guy-one-girl configuration. Jenn Butler’s solo on “I Only Have Eyes for You” is so sexy and smooth, you’ll have trouble remembering where – forget about WHEN – you are! “Rockin’ Robin” will get you up and movin’, as will “Get a Job” and “Trickle Trickle.” We dare you NOT to sing along with “Blue Moon” – go ahead, try out your bass chops. We won’t tell! This is an awesome, feel-good album, reminiscent of the feel-good 50s and 60s. Pick this one up for a sweet, swingin’ trip down memory lane. (37:42 2004)

The 17th Avenue Allstars – Doo Wop Gold

  1. Remember When – I Wonder Why
  2. Sh-Boom
  3. I Only Have Eyes for You
  4. Blue Moon
  5. Rockin’ Robin
  6. Come Go With Me
  7. Lonely Teardrops
  8. In the Still of the Night
  9. Morse Code of Love
  10. Get a Job
  11. Trickle Trickle
  12. The Lion Sleeps Tonight

2006 – Blend

The latest CD from this talented Colorado (now all-male) quintet is chock full of your favorite pop tunes from the 70’s and 80’s. With fresh arrangements by the group themselves, the guys bring you on a trip “back in the day” – opening cover of Level 42’s “Something About You” is very smooth, has a funky breakdown that makes it all theirs, and Mr. Mister’s “Kyrie Eleison” is well-done, indeed (get out your parachute pants and rubber bracelets, folks); right on the heels of that comes Tony Huerta’s take on “Ride Like the Wind” (no mullet required); and perhaps my favorite track on the album, the Beach Boys’ “Good Vibrations,” transports you right to the beach. Other standouts include disco “Let’s Groove Tonight,” with a killer “horn section,” The repertoire veers into the 21st century with a jazzed-up version of Los Lonely Boys’ “Heaven” and Jesse McCartney’s “Beautiful Soul” is tender and sweet. The album closes with a rousing cover of Lionel Richie’s “All Night Long,” the ultimate cheesy early-80’s party song. Take a trip in the not-so-way-back machine with this one, and enjoy the ride! (47:37 2006)

The 17th Avenue Allstars – Blend

  1. Something About You
  2. Ride Like the Wind
  3. Good Vibrations
  4. Let’s Groove Tonight
  5. My Best Friend’s Girl
  6. Heaven
  7. Kyrie Eleison
  8. Beautiful Soul
  9. Should’ve Known Better
  10. You Can Call Me Al
  11. You Can Do Magic
  12. All Night Long
  • Videos

    Error type: "Forbidden". Error message: "The referrer,status&playlistId=PLBB45A9A7DD57D28F&maxResults=4&key=AIzaSyDGhzomYGKYfSFA7HzY16IKxoKm6sIeS78 does not match the referrer restrictions configured on your API key. Please use the API Console to update your key restrictions." Domain: "usageLimits". Reason: "ipRefererBlocked".

    Did you added your own Google API key? Look at the help.

    Check in YouTube if the id PLBB45A9A7DD57D28F belongs to a playlist. Check the FAQ of the plugin or send error messages to support.
  • Purchase Album

    Purchase Talkin A Cappella from the Allstars with PayPal
    Purchase True Colors from the Allstars with PayPal


    Purchase Blend from the Allstars with PayPal
    Purchase 17th Avenue Allstars from the Allstars with PayPal
    Purchase Doo Wop Gold from the Allstars with PayPal

    Choose Album

  • Make a Payment

    Click here to make a payment to the Allstars for a recent or upcoming event.